In this article, we explain how to share or not a view.

Find out more also about edit and deletion settings of the view.


When it comes to creating views, Leeway gives you 3 different options to manage the visibility of your view (regardless whether you're contributor or supervisor in Leeway):

  • πŸ” private views, only visible to yourself,

  • πŸ“’ public views, visible to all your organization members,

  • πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘¦ shared views, visible with specific members/users groups?.

πŸ’‘ You'll find in this article the steps you need to follow to create views.

πŸ” How to keep a view private

Nothing fancy here. When you create and save a new view, it will by default be private. You'll be the only one to be able to see it.

This will allow you to create your own views and organize and monitor your contracts in you own way.

To make sure a view is private, you can check it from the left menu: a small padlock is displayed on the right of the name of the view (see below).

πŸ“’ How to share a view with your whole organization

In order to share the view you've created with all the members of your organization in Leeway, here how to do it:

1- Click on "Share" on top of your view

2- Check the box "Make public"

3- The view will then be visible by all members.

You can decide anytime to make it private again or to share it with specific groups/members by unchecking the box.

πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘¦ How to share a view with specific members or groups

You don't wan't to share your view with everyone but only with a bunch of members or even with a specific group? This is also possible.

πŸ”— Share a view

Follow the steps:

1- Click on "Share" on top of your view

2- In the field, browse members and/or groups you want to grant access to your view.

Once selected, they will have access to the view from their left menu too.

❌ Remove access to a view

To do so, simply hover the name of a group or a member, and click on the small cross that appears on the right side.

✏️ Who can edit a shared view

The owner of the view is the only one able to edit a view (name of the view, filters, attributes, sharing settings).

Indeed, when sharing a view with specific members or publicly, members won't be able to edit directly your view.

But any edit on the view (for example if someone edits the filters of a view he/she has access to and of which he/she is not the owner) that is saved, will create a private copy of the view. This new private copy of the view will only be visible and editable by the member who copied it.

πŸ—‘ Who can delete a shared view

As well as edits made on a shared view, the owner of a view is the only one able to delete the view he/she has created.

Did this answer your question?